Institute of Ecology

The Institute of Ecology developed gradually based on the Department of Zoology, which was established in 1923. Through decades of rigorous scholarship and hard work by a group of famous scholars at home and abroad including Academician Sun Ruyong, Academician Cheng Guangmei, Professor Xu Rumei, and Professor Li Qingfen, among others, the eco-discipline has grown in strength. It was renamed the Department of Ecology in 1987, confirmed as the national key discipline by the State Education Commission in 1988, and renamed the Institute of Ecology in 1998 (i.e. the university-level open laboratory). Through seventy years of construction and development, the Institute has made a lot of groundbreaking research on the animal physiological ecology, ornithology, population ecology, conservation biology and biodiversity science. Research on "the Space-time Dynamics and Mechanism of Insect Population Quantity" was awarded the second prize for science and technology progress by the State Education Commission in 1989; the research on "Mechanism of Fish Energetics" won the third prize of the National Natural Science Award in 1999 (as the third author); the research on "Biology and Ecology and Domestication and Breeding of China's Endangered Pheasants Specialty" won the second prize of the National Natural Science Award in 2001; the research on "The Relationship between the Mechanism to Maintain Biodiversity and the Ecosystem Function" won the first prize of the Natural Science Award by the Ministry of Education in 2009.

The Institute of Ecology consists of such disciplines as the ecology, zoology, botany, biology of aquatic biology, bioinformatics and wildlife protection, among others. It includes the Key Laboratory for Biodiversity Science and Ecological Engineering, Ministry of Education, the university-level Key Laboratory for Computational Molecular Biology and the International Research Center for the Pheasants. Currently there are fifteen professors, including two academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences, one specially employed Changjiang Scholar, three Candidates of Cross-century and New Century Program Supported by the Ministry of Education, nine Associate Professors, three lecturers, and four technical staff. The current research interests include: conservation and breeding of endangered species, biodiversity science, landscape ecology and sustainable development, evolution molecular biology and ecological genomics, biological invasion, animal behavior ecology, plant taxonomy, and molecular and system evolution, among others.

Copyright © 2011 Beijing Normal University. All rights Beijing Normal University No. 19, XinJieKouWai St., HaiDian District, Beijing 100875, P. R. China
BNU telephone directory assistance: 010-58806183 One-stop logistics service hotline: 010-58801111